A considerable portion of the natural stone available in Germany is imported from Asia. What consumers and public purchasers usually do not know is that these natural stones have been partly dismantled and produced under catastrophic working conditions and by child laborers. The XertifiX Association has therefore developed two seals, which are awarded when clear standards are met: XertifiX and XertifiX plus.

Since 2006, XertifiX has been inspecting quarries and natural stone companies in India, since 2014 in China and Vietnam. The controls are used to check compliance with the XertifiX standard. As a result, XertifiX ensures that no child labor or slavery is carried out, that all ILO core labor standards are observed, the working conditions of adult workers are progressively improved and basic environmental protection measures are observed. When the requirements are met, the imported natural stones can be certified by XertifiX.

Special characteristics of the seal

Not only are processing companies, but also all quarries checked . The production sites are controlled relatively frequently ( 2 times per year ) and one of these controls must always be unannounced . This is the only way to ensure that the ban on child labor and the improvement of working conditions in quarries and factories are actually carried out, especially because an audit is not announced.

The XertifiX PLUS-Label

It is awarded when all XertifiX compulsory criteria are met and 2/3 of the XertifiX criteria as a whole. If not all criteria have been met, the supply chain companies will be given one year to improve. This must also be confirmed by unannounced controls. The XertifiX compulsory criteria include:

  • Compliance with ILO core labor standards
  • Fair working hours (ILO Conventions No. 1 and No. 14)
  • Payment of statutory minimum wages according to national legislation
  • Provision and use of personal protective equipment (e.g., boots, helmets, eye protection, ear protection, mouthguards)

Traceability

The XertifiX labels are attached to the transport boxes for the natural stones. Due to the unique label number, additional check digits and the unique assignment to the container, the process is counterfeit-proof and allows the traceability to the processor and the quarry. In the case of individual supply chains, the practicability of the marking of the raw blocks in the quarries is currently being tested in a pilot project.

Further Information

1. How we work
2. XertifiX-Standard
3. Controls
4. Traceability
5. Licence

Das XertifiX-Siegel

Heute wird ein beträchtlicher Teil der in Deutschland zu kaufenden Natursteine aus Asien importiert. Die Herausforderung für Verbraucher und öffentliche Beschaffer besteht darin, dass diese Natursteine zum Teil unter katastrophalen Arbeitsbedingungen für die erwachsenen Arbeiter, sowie durch Kinderarbeit abgebaut und produziert wurden. Um Importeuren, Verbrauchern und Beschaffern hier die Sicherheit zu geben, dass dies nicht der Fall ist, hat der Verein XertifiX einen Naturstein-Standard entwickelt und vergibt das XertifiX-Siegel.

XertifiX lässt seit dem Jahr 2006 Steinbrüche und Natursteinbetriebe in Indien kontrollieren, seit 2014 in China und Vietnam. Mit den Kontrollen wird die Einhaltung des XertifiX-Standards überprüft. Dadurch stellt XertifiX sicher, dass keine ausbeuterische Kinderarbeit oder Sklavenarbeit stattfinden, alle ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen eingehalten werden, die Arbeitsbedingungen der erwachsenen Arbeiter schrittweise verbessert und grundlegende Umweltschutzmaßnahmen eingehalten werden. Wenn die Anforderungen erfüllt werden, können die importierten Natursteine von XertifiX zertifiziert werden.

Besondere Merkmale des Siegels

Besondere Merkmale des XertifiX-Siegels sind: Es werden nicht nur Verarbeitungsbetriebe, sondern auch alle Steinbrüche kontrolliert. Die Produktionsstätten werden relativ häufig kontrolliert (2mal pro Jahr) und eine dieser Kontrollen muss immer unangekündigt sein. Nur hierdurch kann sichergestellt werden, dass das Verbot von Kinderarbeit und die Verbesserungen der Arbeitsbedingungen in den Steinbrüchen und Betrieben tatsächlich stattfinden und nicht nur „Showmaßnahmen“ für ein einmal durchzuführendes externes Audit sind.

Das XertifiX PLUS-Label

Das XertifiX PLUS-Label wird vergeben, wenn alle XertifiX-Pflichtkriterien einghalten werden sowie 2/3 der XertifiX-Kriterien insgesamt. In dem Fall, dass noch nicht alle Kriterien eingehalten werden, erhalten die Betriebe der Lieferkette ein Jahr Zeit, um nachzubessern und alle Kriterien einzuhalten. Das muss durch unangekündigte Kontrollen bestätigt werden. Zu den XertifiX Pflichtkriterien zählen unter anderem:

  • Einhaltung der ILO-Kernarbeitsnormen
  • Faire Arbeitszeiten (ILO Konventionen Nr. 1 und Nr. 14)
  • Bezahlung der gesetzlichen Mindestlöhne gemäß der nationalen Gesetzgebung
  • Bereitstellung und Nutzung von Persönlicher Schutzausrüstung (z.B. Stiefeln, Helm, Augenschutz, Ohrschutz, Mundschutz)

Traceability

Die XertifiX-Label werden an den Kisten mit Natursteinen angebracht. Durch die jeweils nur einmal vergebene Labelnummer, weitere Prüfziffern und die eindeutige Zuordnung zum Container ist das Verfahren fälschungssicher und lässt die Rückverfolgbarkeit zum Verarbeiter und von dort bis zum Steinbruch zu. Bei einzelnen Lieferketten wird zudem derzeit in einem Pilotprojekt die Praktikabilität der Labelung der Rohblöcke in den Steinbrüchen getestet.

Vertiefende Informationen

1. Wie wir arbeiten
2. XertifiX-Standard
3. Kontrollen
4. Rückverfolgbarkeit
5. Lizenzgegenstand